Prof. Martin Ostoja-Starzewski

Department of Mechanical Science & Engineering
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Urbana, IL, 61801-2906

Tel: 217-265-0900
Fax: 217-244-9980

Site co-Director of NSF Industry/University Cooperative Research Center for Novel High Voltage/Temperature Materials and Structures

My departmental webpage

Member of The Institute for Condensed Matter Theory, 2007-
Adjunct Faculty at Beckman Institute, 2008-
Member of University Senate, 2007-2009

IACAT Fellow of NCSA (2013-14)

Associate of Center for Advanced Study (2013-14)

Google Scholar


Rothschild Fellow (“Uncertainty quantification and stochastic modelling of materials”) at Isaac Newton Institute for Mathematical Sciences, University of Cambridge, 2023

Member of European Academy of Sciences and Arts

Worcester Reed Warner Medal (ASME – 2018)

Fellow ASME

Fellow AAM

Fellow SES

Fellow WIF

Associate Fellow AIAA

Distinguished Fellow of TK Collegium of Eminent Scientists

Member ISIMM (Executive Committee)

Chairman of PACAM (Pan American Congresses of Applied Mechanics, 2004-2012), AAM


Visiting scientist


Interview on International Innovation download

Interview on

AIAA short course: Stochastic Mechanics of Materials and Structures

Illinois team uses Ember to simulate 1 million-grain cube of steel

Short-Course: Mechanics-of-Random-and-Fractal-Materials-and-Structures

Discussing multifunctional filters at Freiberg-workshop


S. Kale, P. Karimi, F. Sabet, I. Jasiuk, M. Ostoja-Starzewski, “Tunneling-percolation model of multicomponent nanocomposites,” Journal of Applied Physics, 123, 085104-1-12 (2018) featured article

“Tunneling-percolation behavior of polydisperse prolate and oblate ellipsoids” by S. Kale, F. Sabet, I. Jasiuk, and Martin Ostoja-Starzewski, J. Appl. Phys. 118, 154306 (2015) featured article

“Scaling and bounds in thermal conductivity of planar Gaussian correlated microstructures” by Sohan Kale, Ankit Saharan, Seid Koric, and Martin Ostoja-Starzewski, J. Appl. Phys. 117, 104301 (2015)” has been selected as Editors’ Choice